Mephisto – Australia’s A7V

Last weekend I managed a brief trip over to Canberra to attend Cancon. While being very much a quick trip, rather than combining it with a holiday, I did manage to call in briefly to the Australian War Memorial Museum. While I have visited several times I wanted to particularly visit the upgraded World War I exhibits.

Many of the older dioramas remained and remained well presented and interesting. In addition there had been considerable investment to upgrade and present various displays and interactive sections. However, it was the A7V which for me stole the show, not least it being the only such vehicle in existence. This particular vehicle, Mephisto, was captured at Battle of Villers-Bretonneux in April 1918. They say a picture is worth a thousand words so…

  

Above, a view from the front. Note the devil carrying a British tank. The supporting material of the exhibit outlined many of changes to markings and camouflage and the vehicles history. Below, a view of the rear.

   

Another side view, clearly showing some battle damage. 

     

In addition a photo of an Italian CV-33 tankette, which of course illustrates the change in doctrine during the inter-war years, an aspect I find fascinating.

 

As to Cancon itself I played in the DBA competition. A short summary of the DBA competition can be found here

In addition to my games I tried to visit a few demonstration games in surrounding areas of the convention hall. I’ve provided a few photos of one which in my mind was outstanding. Using 3mm figures this Moderns game, with its outstanding terrain, illustrated all the advantages of the smaller scales.

  

The villages, with Soviets deployed around them, looked first class and the woods well superb. Below, Americans seen advancing. 

  

Another view, taken later in the day now with helicopters in support. 

  

Leave a Reply

